Mutual funds investment advice

Aoa every one,

I am new to mutual funds and am not so sure where to start. I have visited http://www.Mufap.Com.Pk/ and have viewed the names the of mutual funds however having no prior experience with mutual funds i want to know a bit more from some one who has fist hand experience investing in mutual funds.

-how do i invest in a mutual fund? Can it be done online? Or do i have to visit the bank etc every time to invest or uplift?

-as we all know that the political situation in pakistan is usually unstable. If the market crashes, how much does it effect the mutual funds?

- if there is no market crash, what are the expected returns on the investments?

- is it better to invest in real estate or in mutual funds? Which one is better?

- is there any "specific" set of knowledge required before investing in mutual funds?

You answers are highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Dear Mr Basit,

If you speak about volatility and instability than no investment or business in this world is 100% stable at all times. The returns may vary one year after another.

Investment means that you invest after evaluating the risks and returns over a certain period of time.

I'll keep it short and answer your core questions.

1. Mutual funds is basically a group of expert fund managers who are aware of the different market situations and know where and how to invest to get the best returns for themselves and for investors. Its like giving your money to an expert businessman who invests your money in different sectors to get best returns.

2. In case of market crash they will still be able to make some timely decisions and prevent themselves and you from maximum loss. The history shows that markets all over the world have always recovered and bounced even higher to recover and give you profits in the long run.

Diversify your investment which means put something in each sector so that you don't loose everything by putting money in only one.