Construction By Contractor Or Self

I have zero experience of construction. As I plan to construct my house on a 30x60 plot in E-16/3 Cabinet Society, I visited many under-construction and newly constructed houses built by contractors. Even as a layman I notice the poor quality of workmanship which makes me scared of hiring a contractor. I have two relatives who are top quality masons, and indeed very good persons by nature. They agree to construct my house, and I hope they will give a lot better quality at a much lower cost. My younger brother can supervise the house construction full-time. Is it a workable idea to hire the masons and labour without a contractor. Your early advice is requested as I want to start construction within the next 4 weeks.

Thanks

All i can say is good luck.

Its like getting operated by nurses without the doctor...

I would have preferred the contractor on labor rates. Not with material. I would have avoided the relatives as matters become complex at the end.

Regarding quality, you should supervise to ensure quality with contractor. If you go for contractor in the end, better to hire one from same area where you are constructing the home.

If you still go with relatives, give them contract. Labour is so lazy nowadays that only a contractor can make them work.

Kamran, I would say go for it. Keep a check on whatever you provide them, money, meterial. I can tell you, you can save lots of money. Make a document before you start on main terms and conditions!

Ehsan, thank you.