Real Estate

Expert Authority
1052 posts
3 best
Junaid

Expert Authority
1018 posts
1 best
Become an expert on the forum, check Forum Ranks.
Building Contractors questions and answers. All your Building Contractors questions answered by our experts and thousands of other members. Get professional Building Contractors answers to your questions. Get started by asking a new Building Contractors question now.
Kamran
( 4 posts )

[21 Answers]
I have zero experience of construction. As I plan to construct my house on a 30x60 plot in E-16/3 Cabinet Society, I visited many under-construction and newly constructed houses built by contractors. Even as a layman I notice the poor quality of workmanship which makes me scared of hiring a contractor. I have two relatives who are top quality masons, and indeed very good persons by nature. They agree to construct my house, and I hope they will give a lot better quality at a much lower cost. My younger brother can supervise the house construction full-time. Is it a workable idea to hire the masons and labour without a contractor. Your early advice is requested as I want to start construction within the next 4 weeks.

Thanks

1645 days ago In Building Contractors
    Baber Rabban..
    (1628 posts)
    Best Answer
    Yes. Involving an architect would greatly help you. One can pay them on per visit basis.

Have water level sorted out and marked at each stage. At plinth level, than at door beam level and most importantly at roof shuttering level.

Also, as soon as Masons start building, ask an engineer to check if everything is according to map and all the rooms/bathroom have perfect dimensions and there is not even half an inch difference.

I bet you will be happy and enjoy your home if you take these steps which are often ignored.
      1645 days ago 

HT
      (1115 posts)
      All i can say is good luck.

Its like getting operated by nurses without the doctor...
        1645 days ago 

Baber Rabban..
        (1628 posts)