Property as an Investment Option in Current Country

I am an architect working here with a consultant in Saudi Arabia for the past 1½ years. I am currently having Rs 40 lac as my savings. Need an expert advice through this forum about any investment opportunities in Pakistan. My family is based in Lahore, and I will also prefer to live there once I will decide to resettle to my home country.

I am looking from purely an investment point of view, as per my current conditions I will not be in a hurry of any house construction till 7 to 8 years.

My main question to the experts is whether buying any property as an investment tool will be worth it against the prevailing Pakistan's atmosphere ? Will it be able to return any good returns after 7 to 8 years ? like more than two folds etc?

Hm, well for the past 5 years property has not been a good investment generally speaking but for the the past 10-15 years it has been good so no one can predict the future! but for the current situation it does not seem like property will be a good investment in the near future i.e. 2-3 years.

So what should be the smart move then? Stay with some liquid cash investment in the form of any savings account for the time being and to observe Pakistan real estate? Waiting for it to start inflating again?

Well in my opinion the smart move for the near future (close to 1 year) would be keep your savings in foreign currency esp. US$ and see what happens I mean where the economy and the real estate sector is going then make your move accordingly right now is a very bad time to invest! As property prices in majority of areas may FALL directly or indirectly via the fall of the rupee!

Well this might be a short term strategy, or to save your money from being further affected by inflation. What will be the solution if the picture regarding the real estate remain unchanged in the course of two to three years? (as it seems to be)