Effect of discount rate cut on property

On saturday state bank cut the discount rate after 1 year by 0.5 percent, bringing it to 9.5 percent. Since i work for a bank, i know it triggers the economy by reducing borrowing costs overheads. Today the karachi stock exchange is also rising by over 300 points. What do seniors think will be its impact on property? My observation suggests that prices might see an improvement.

I think real estate is not mainly based on loans so I don’t think it will affect real estate that much. But I’m no expert and could be wrong.

It's not a major cut in percentage terms. It will not have a major impact. But if the trend continues as government has indicated its policy by the this cut, it will have some impact in future.

It seems that if the thing goes in right direction, interest rates will further be reduced slowly till 8% . Interest rate at Musharraf era level will see jump in property. But all this would be really slow as this government discourages property.

I am not an economist but just my view. I may be wrong. But this question is quite important.

Its an interesting question. I am no expert on the economy but somehow I think there is a link. I just googled it and found out last time SBP lowered interest rate was in December 2012, and it was the same i.e. From 10% to 9.5%. We all know that after that, prices starting to gain appreciably and specially after June, it was like an earthquake, prices even tripled in some places! In November last year, SBP again raised the rate to 10% and since then property market has been falling or stagnant.

Again, it could be plain coincidence, but I think there could be some relationship. Maybe Raza sb you being a banker yourself, or Sayeein sb or anyone else knowledgeable on this matter can enlighten us.

@Junaid. I agree that mortgage financing plays hardly any role in Pakistani real estate market.