Gilgit-Baltistan approves the development of four new districts - Zameen News

Gilgit-Baltistan approves the development of four new districts

June 18, 2019 • news

Islamabad: The government of Gilgit-Baltistan (GB) has notified the creation of four more districts in the region, a news source reported.

Read: SC announces verdict in GB case

According to Monday’s announcement, Gilgit-Baltistan will now comprise 14 administrative units in total. The four new districts, which were previously designated as sub-divisions, include Darel, Tangir, Yaseen, and Rondu.

The notification further states that no changes shall be made to the revenue division, police ranges, subdivisions, tehsils and sub-tehsils.

Previously, the region comprised 10 districts: Ghanche, Skardu, Shigar, Kharmang, Gilgit, Ghizer, Hunza, Nagar, Diamer, and Astore.

ReadProposed interim status for GB delayed

The region is divided into three administrative divisions (Baltistan, Gilgit, and Diamer) that previously comprised 10 districts. These included four Baltistan districts comprising Skardu, Shigar, Kharmang, and Ghanche; four Gilgit districts of, Ghizer, Hunza, Gilgit and Nagar, and two Diamer districts named Diamer and Astore.